How to make original style and content

Writing For New Media (week 9)

Since starting my website, I have been striving to achieve an authentic voice and layout. I want my website to showcase information that readers will benefit from, not something that they have already seen before. In order to do this, I have realized that style and content is key to making my website stand out. In this week’s lecture I learned valuable tips and tricks that will help me achieve this goal. I have included some of the information that I found most important below:

Strategies that make your web space distinctive:

  • choose appropriate and relevant content (include author information about who you are and why you are qualified to write this content)
  • make your purpose clear
  • comprise your website of distinctive information units (don’t try to fit all of your information on one single page, this can seem daunting and overcrowded)
  • match your design to your content
  • limit the amount of text (should be about 50% shorter than hard copy)

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 12.31.55 PM
This article from The New York Times showcases how the use of images and interactive content is more useful in maintaining the reader’s attention. (photo: http://www.nytimes.com)  

 

Moving forward, I plan on keeping these tips in mind whilst creating my site. I have learned that “less is more” when it comes to creating an eye-catching space on the internet. Readers spend an average of just one minute on a single page, and they generally skim content instead of actually reading all of the information. By using graphics, and limiting text so that I only include the most vital and attractive content, I hope to create a website that readers will want to come back to time and time again.

Leave a Reply

