Building Upon Skills

Writing For New Media (week 7)

html3

Image source: theinternetdigest.net )

This week has been quite productive, if I do say so myself. As you are probably aware, this is the point in the semester where most of the projects and Midterms start to pop up. I have been spending most nights going over notes, studying for exams, and of course trying to maintain a normal social life as well!

While I have been mainly focusing on retaining all of the new information that I have acquired these past few weeks, I have also been building upon the foundation of knowledge that I already do have. One main example of this is in our Writing For New Media course, actually.

Over the past few years, social networking sites such as Myspace, Facebook and Twitter all require you to build your own personal sharing platform and create a place that allows you to express yourself. In order to build this platform, you must be able to use basic levels of design and coding in order to get the layout exactly as you want to. This is the same for our class as well, because with the upkeep of the blog (and now the start of creating our website) I have realized that you also need to improve these design skills if you want to make your content unique and original.

I have enjoyed the HTML and website tutorials because I have taken a course on coding/HTML before, but it is good to brush up on old skills. I am excited to continue building our website, and to add more useful information to the skill set that I already posses.

Xo,

Noelle

Leave a Reply

