The price of protection

Writing For New Media (week 6)

IMG_3065
While it may seem harmless to provide personal information online, you should always use caution and consider the risks of doing so. 

Reflecting on my time spent in Limerick, it is absolutely crazy to think that it is almost half over. I feel like time has been moving at the speed of light, rarely giving me a moment to sit back and reflect on all of the valuable memories I have made here so far. However, I have enjoyed the steady routine of classes during the week, and getting the opportunity to learn in a brand new environment. This past week has been especially interesting in terms of classes, and what I have gained from them. In our Writing For New Media tutorials we have been focusing on the risks that come with being online, and what we give up in terms of personal protection when we hand over our rights to be a part of the online community. Today we watched a documentary titled The Virtual Revolution: The Cost of Free, which brings to light the so-called “free” services that we receive every day online, but how they are actually coming at a price to the consumer.

This documentary was somewhat eye-opening for me, because I feel as if my generation grew up in the era where it was the societal norm to provide all of your personal information on the internet- and not think twice about the dangers that might come along with that. Even now, I still feel like I could take more precautionary measures when relinquishing my personal information to the web. It’s so easy to just type in your credit information, social security number, etc. when you are simply asked to provide it for a service in return. It never occurred to me that this data is being stored and used to influence the content that I see while surfing the web.

This week, I have learned that no matter how harmless and “safe” the online community may seem, I should always remind myself that companies are using this information to make themselves more successful as well- and that they may not always have the customer’s best interest at heart.

Xo,

Noelle

Leave a Reply

